Excellence in Health Care:

Blue Distinction Awards

Designation as Blue Distinction Centers means these facilities' overall experience and aggregate data met objective criteria established in collaboration with expert clinicians' and leading professional organizations’ recommendations. Individual outcomes may vary. To find out which services are covered under your policy at any facilities, please call your local Blue Cross and/or Blue Shield Plan.

Blue Distinction: Cardiac Care

Trinity Hospital has been designated a Blue Distinction Center for Cardiac Care by Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota, an independent licensee of the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association. The Blue Distinction program recognizes medical facilities that exceed clinically verified quality standards, resulting in the best outcomes for patients.
Among the criteria met by Trinity:

An established cardiac care program that performs the required annual volumes of procedures, including angioplasty and bypass surgery.

A full range of cardiac services, including inpatient cardiac care and cardiac rehabilitation.

Low overall complication and mortality rates.

Subspecialty board certification of the cardiac team, and ongoing quality improvement program processes.

Learn More: Trinity Center of Excellence, Cardiac Care

Blue Distinction: Hip and Knee Replacement

The Blue Cross Blue Shield Association in conjunction with Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota has designated Trinity Hospital a Blue Distinction Center for Knee and Hip Replacement, a new designation launched this year.

Blue Distinction recognizes facilities that meet objective, evidence-based thresholds for clinical quality that are developed in collaboration with expert physicians and medical organizations. This designation is awarded to facilities that have demonstrated an objective commitment to quality care, resulting in better overall outcomes for patients who undergo knee and hip replacement procedures.

BCBSA collaborates with expert physicians and medical organizations to determine the selection criteria for all Blue Distinction programs. Candidates for Blue Distinction Centers for Knee and Hip Replacement must submit clinical data to establish that they meet the selection criteria, which include:

  • An established acute care inpatient facility, including intensive care, emergency care and a full range of patient support services
  • Full accreditation by a Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)-deemed national accreditation organization
  • A comprehensive quality management program
  • An established knee and hip replacement program, performing required annual volumes for certain procedures (e.g., at least 100 total hip and total knee joint replacement surgeries [primary and revision] per year, with a minimum of 25 each total hip and total knee replacements)
  • An experienced knee and hip replacement surgery team, including surgeons with board certification,subspecialty fellowship training, and case volumes that meet the selection criteria for knee and hip replacement procedures
  • Pre-operative patient education
  • Processes that support transitions of care
  • Multi-disciplinary teams and clinical pathways to coordinate and streamline care
  • Use of an internal registry or database to track patient outcomes over time
  • Participation in the Surgical Care Improvement Project (SCIP) with ≥ 90% performance on process measures
  • Clinical outcomes that meet objective thresholds, such as complication rates and length of stay, for specific procedures.

  • Learn More: Trinity Center of Excellence, Othopedics